You are here

2 BR
2.25 BA
Age 18 and under.

Area/Town

  • Kapoho

Description

New photos alert! We just dressed Hale Lokelani up and had new photos taken! *August 2017*

Step out the back door and into Kapoho Bay for some of the finest and safest snorkeling in the Islands. This gated community is highly sought-after by vacationers because of it's beautiful location, close proximity to the sights and sounds of the beautiful Pacific Ocean and for the incredibly private crystal clear, geothermally heated lagoons for your relaxing pleasure. Kapoho is rarely crowded, the Kapoho Tidepools are protected from the ocean's waves by a coral reef, the water is crystal clear, and often warmer than the ocean because of geothermally heated springs that enter into the tidepools in various places. Right out the back door, you will find honu (sea turtles) making their home in these waters.

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 2 – 6)
Beds: One (1) Queen Upstairs in the Master, One (1) King Downstairs, and One (1) Trundle Bed Downstairs
Full Kitchen
Dishwasher
All Cooking Utensils
Microwave
Satellite Television
WIFI Internet (Broadband)
Telephone w/Long Distance Included
DVD/CD Player
Washer & Dryer
Linens Provided
Towels & Beach Towels Provided
Outdoor Shower
BBQ Grill – Charcoal
Your Own Geothermally Heated Warm Lagoon To Swim and Snorkel In
Many Restaurants Close (Pahoa and Hilo)
No Smoking
No Pets
Hilo 30 min.
Kilauea 45 min.

This home is PERFECT and has everything you could possibly need while on vacation including a full, spacious kitchen, indoor and outdoor dining, large master suite upstairs enclosed by beautiful Shoji doors with en suite bathroom that has a large soaking tub and separate standup shower, a large living room where you can unwind, and a separate living space downstairs that includes another sitting room, mini fridge, bedroom, bathroom and outdoor lanai with outdoor dining as well. *Please note that the upstairs and downstairs are NOT connected from inside the house. They each have separate outdoor entrances.*

Not that you'll ever leave, just a 5 minute drive down the historic Old Red Road is the Ahalanui Warm Spring Park which is another geothermally heated swimming pond/pool at the edge of the Pacific Ocean (lifeguard on duty). Another 10 minute drive down the Red Road is the historic Kehena Black Sand Beach and don't miss old Pahoa town, just a short 10 mile drive from the hale where you will find the original boardwalks that date back to the late 1800's when this sleepy little town was king in the sugar plantation days. There is great dining in this little town with Italian, Thai, Chinese and Tex-Mex. Hilo town with all of its historical points of interest, color and famous for its friendly people is only about 35 minutes away and the ever changing Volcanoes National Park is about a 50 minute drive from Hale Lokelani.

Area attractions include, swimming, scuba diving, spelunking, a public swimming pool in Pahoa, fishing, restaurants, reefs, surfing, snorkeling, and a beautiful clothing-optional beach.

Rates are for double occupancy. Add $25 per additional person, plus 14.416% Hawaii State taxes. Cleaning and other fees will also apply.

TA-110-935-2448-01 24hr Contact

Amenities

Living

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • High Speed Internet
  • WiFi
  • Hair Dryer

Outdoor

  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Balcony
  • BBQ Grill
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Gazebo
  • Large grassy yard
  • Garden Courtyard
  • Covered Lanai
  • Outdoor Dining Area
  • Chaise Lounges
  • Parking for 2 cars
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lanais off Bedrooms
  • Oceanfront
  • Lanai
  • Mature landscaping
  • Tropical Foliage
  • Landscaped
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boogies Boards
  • Snorkeling Gear
  • Beach Towels
  • Picnic Cooler
  • Beach Umbrella

Convenience

  • Nearby Medical Services
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Concierge
  • Chef Service Available
  • Massage Service Available
  • 5 minute walk to beach

Geographic

  • On Bay or Sound
  • Oceanfront
  • Near surf break

Business

  • Nearby ATM
  • Nearby Post Office
  • Nearby FedEx
  • Nearby Bank
  • TA-110-935-2448-01

Kitchen

  • Full Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Cookware
  • Outdoor Dining for 6
  • Dining for 6
  • Garbage disposal
  • Blender
  • Pantry
  • Dishwasher
  • Indoor Dining Area
  • Pantry Items
  • Oven
  • Dishes and Utensils
  • Stove

Entertainment

  • Cable TV
  • Satellite TV
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Boogie Boards
  • Snorkeling Gear
  • Beach Towels
  • Pool Floating Devices
  • Picnic Cooler
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Books
  • Snorkel Gear

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
May 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Rates

DatesNightlyWeeklyMonthly
04/01/18 - 11/30/18$225$1,495$5,250
12/01/18 - 03/31/19$250$1,575$5,995 - $6,800
04/01/19 - 11/30/19$225$1,495$5,250

Reviews

Wonderful stay

Reviewed on 2018-04-10 by Gery R. of Laguna Hills, CA United States
Updated on 2018-04-10
Review of stay from 2018-03-21 to 2018-03-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Once again we had a wonderful stay at Hale Lokelani. This was our fourth year to stay in the house, so you know that you love it. Beautiful location, and we love swimming and snorkeling right out the back door. And we also find that there are many interesting things to do in the area.

Quiet and peaceful

Reviewed on 2018-01-21 by Unknown of Anchorage, AK United States
Updated on 2018-02-15
Review of stay from 2017-12-30 to 2018-01-05
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Overall very good experience. The location was a bit further from Hilo than I expected and it worked out okay, but we found ourselves driving more than we like to drive on vacation. The kitchen knives were so dull that I couldn’t make a salad and had to buy my own knife.
Manager response on 2018-02-15 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! We are very pleased to hear you had a good experience with us. We apologize the location was not what you were expected and the kitchen knives were not adequate for your needs. We appreciate your comments and will definitely look into these issues for future guests. Mahalo for your review and recommendation! We appreciate you being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

Glorious Location

Reviewed on 2018-04-04 by David M. of Toronto, ON Canada
Updated on 2018-04-04
Review of stay from 2018-03-11 to 2018-03-17
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We stayed for a rainy week in March and had a wonderful time. Hale Lokelani was an excellent base to explore the big island, and it was wonderful to come home to swim each afternoon in the heated tidal pool on our doorstep. Swimming with the tropical fish and sea turtles everyday was a highlight for us. The house is comfortable and well appointed. Beds, linens, towels are all excellent. The kitchen is also well appointed, but could use some new knives that are sharp. As well, with the set up of the house essentially as two separate apartments with different separate entrances, I think it should be standard practise to provide two keys with the check in.

Beautiful Location

Reviewed on 2018-02-11 by Barbara C. of Kelowna, BC Canada
Updated on 2018-04-09
Review of stay from 2018-02-06 to 2018-02-09
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The home and location were amazing. We really enjoyed our first visit to the Big Island. Only two things that were not top notch, the stove was very dirty and the BBQ very very dirty. We left it much cleaner than we arrived. Small things but important.
Manager response on 2018-04-09 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We apologize that the stove and BBQ were not thoroughly cleaned upon your arrival, the small things are very important to us and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We are glad to know that in spite of this, you enjoyed this home and the location! We hope you had a great first visit to the Big Island and were able to make some lasting memories! Mahalo for being such wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Hawaii!

Perfect Off the Beaten Path Jewel!

Reviewed on 2018-04-09 by Amber T. of Bucklin, KS United States
Updated on 2018-04-09
Review of stay from 2018-03-17 to 2018-03-21
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
My mother and I were on a mother / daughter getaway. This property is about a 30 minute drive south of Hilo and 10 minutes from Pahoa.

We loved that we were away from all of the tourists and could relax out by the beautiful lagoon. This is a perfect location for visiting Hilo, Volcano National Park, Punaluu Black Sand Beach and many other sites.

Stop in Pahoa and eat at Kaleo's. The food is amazing. Service was a little slow but EVERYTHING is slow in Hawaii!. The Lilikoi Cheesecake (passion fruit) is to die for!

Best Vacation Rental!

Reviewed on 2017-10-16 by Kathleen P. of Sandia Park, NM United States
Updated on 2018-02-08
Review of stay from 2017-09-30 to 2017-10-14
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Had a great stay as usual. Snorkeling was fantastic.
Manager response on 2017-11-09 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! We are so happy to hear you had a great stay! It sounds like you had some fun snorkeling and we hope you had everything you needed for a pleasant stay. Mahalo for being such great guests and for your excellent review. We hope to see you again soon!

Exactly what we were hoping for

Reviewed on 2017-04-20 by Scott M. of Berkeley, CA United States
Updated on 2017-04-26
Review of stay from 2017-04-01 to 2017-04-04
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Hale Lokelani is a great spot. The whole area of Kapoho is fun and interesting and beautiful and exotic. Snorkeling, lava, the Red Road, warm pools, etc. The house is great. Has some old Hawaii character but is still well stocked, comfortable and the view of the pools from the balcony are A+.
Manager response on 2017-04-26 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Thank you for the great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience some of the fun things Kapoho has to offer! Mahalo for being such great guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Hale Lokelani

Reviewed on 2017-07-21 by Unknown of Arvada, CO United States
Updated on 2017-08-14
Review of stay from 2017-07-12 to 2017-07-19
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Location is unbeatable. Loved the quiet lagoon snorkeling. We were worried about the turtles though. Some of the other guests at other rentals on the lagoon were harassing them at times and one person was even fishing in the lagoon right where the turtles were. We overheard him also saying that some of the fish in the lagoon are edible. I'm sure this is legal, but it did worry us because it is such as special place. The house itself was nice, but needed some touch up and spot cleaning here and there when we arrived. Overall, we loved our stay and will come again when we save up enough money! I hope the turtles will still be there! Thank you for allowing us the late check-out; it made our last day MUCH easier.
Manager response on 2017-08-14 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! We are so glad to hear that you loved your stay with us! Your snorkeling excursions sound very fun and we appreciate your concern for the maintenance of such a special place. We're happy we were able to accommodate your late check-out to make your travels easier and hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo for the great review and recommendation!

May 2017

Reviewed on 2017-05-30 by Unknown of Santa Monica, CA United States
Updated on 2017-06-01
Review of stay from 2017-05-10 to 2017-05-13
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This was our fourth time staying in Kapoho and our second time staying at Hale Lokelani. We loved our morning walks around the neighborhood. So sad to see that Luquins was destroyed in a fire. We highly recommend the drive along the 137 to Kalapana. We will definitely be back.
Manager response on 2017-06-01 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Thank you so much for the review! Your morning neighborhood walks sound like a very pleasant way to begin your days and we are glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful neighborhood. We're pleased to hear you are a returning guest and enjoyed your stay with us once again, We hope to see you again soon!

Heavenly retreat!

Reviewed on 2017-07-21 by Katie M. of Kamuela, HI United States
Updated on 2017-08-14
Review of stay from 2017-06-17 to 2017-06-20
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This property is outstanding! With two structures and tons of sleeping space, there's enough room for everyone. The "pond" adjacent to the lagoon is truly special, however. Perfect for floating away the day! It's a quiet location, with gorgeous views. I cannot recommend highly enough! We will be back for 10 days next June, already booked!
Manager response on 2017-08-14 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Thank you so much for your great review and recommendation! It sounds like you had a very comfortable stay with us and were able to utilize the spaciousness of this home. It's great you were able to enjoy some gorgeous views and floating in the pond sounds very relaxing and peaceful! We are so happy to hear you have your next trip booked and we look forward to seeing you again!

Great trip with girlfriends!

Reviewed on 2017-12-22 by Mary G. of Sapulpa, OK United States
Updated on 2018-02-08
Review of stay from 2017-12-13 to 2017-12-20
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This place is amazing. The house was supplied with everything we needed. The only thing we had to get were groceries. Rooms were beautifully decorated and the views were breathtaking.
Right out the back door you walk down into a crystal clear lagoon. Great for snorkeling or swimming. December the water was great. There are so many beautiful fish there. We were able to swim with sea turtles and a eel that the locals call snow flake. Incredible experience and would recommend it for a friend getaway and large enough for a family of 8.

Great time!
Manager response on 2018-02-08 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Thank you so much for the excellent review and recommendation! It sounds like your group was able to experience a lot of what this home and location has to offer! Swimming with sea turtles and seeing all of the wildlife sounds so exciting and special! We are very happy to hear you and your group had everything you needed for a pleasant experience and you all were comfortable in the space. Mahalo for being such wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next girl’s trip!

Private snorkel lagoon

Reviewed on 2017-11-04 by Stephanie H. of Warren, OR United States
Updated on 2018-02-08
Review of stay from 2017-10-29 to 2017-11-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Lovely older home with direct access off the back porch to a lovely protected lagoon. The house was well stocked and close enough to Pahoa that we could get anything we needed. This house was our jump off point to the Puna region, the volcano and Hilo area sites. Our only complaint was the heat, we are from Oregon, and we felt the bedroom area would benefit from and overhead or more efficient box fan.
Manager response on 2017-11-16 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Thank you so much for your excellent review and recommendation! We are so happy to hear you had everything you needed for a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the warm bedrooms and additional fan, but we are happy to know it did not take away from you experience too much. It sounds like you were able to make use of this home's close location to the volcano and Hilo area sites, and the background lagoon sounds lovely. Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Hale Lokelani Visit

Reviewed on 2017-03-16 by Mike & Jo C. of Sturgeon Bay, WI United States
Updated on 2017-03-16
Review of stay from 2017-02-25 to 2017-03-11
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great location! Very Unique. Great access the Kapoho Bay as well as to Hilo side activities.

A Great Weekend

Reviewed on 2017-04-14 by Unknown of KEAAU, HI United States
Updated on 2017-04-19
Review of stay from 2017-03-17 to 2017-03-20
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Perfect relaxing weekend to step right out the door and dive in the water.
Weather couldn't be better.
Manager response on 2017-04-19 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Aloha! Very happy to hear you had everything you needed in order to enjoy a relaxing weekend! Mahalo for the great review and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

great place to stay

Reviewed on 2017-04-16 by Debra C. of jacksonville, AR United States
Updated on 2017-04-19
Review of stay from 2017-04-07 to 2017-04-14
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Quiet and peaceful with its secluded swimming area.
Manager response on 2017-04-19 - Response from Hawaii Life Real Estate Brokers
Mahalo for the great review!

Location

Get Directions