19 Sep 2016
Every year, thousands of people travel to the islands of Hawaii to tie the knot. According to state statistics, 21,865 people got married in Hawaii last year, 2/3 of them being vacationers.
While the process to make it legal is fairly easy, there are some important steps that you must follow to obtain a marriage license. By law, both applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Official proof of age such as a driver's license or a birth certificate must be provided for proof of age. *(The State of Hawaii does allow marriages for applicants between the ages of 15-17 but require the written consent of both parents, legal guardian, or the family court.)
The first step in the process is completing a Hawaii Marriage Application or a Civil Union Application. Along with the completed application and proof of age documents, the bride and groom must appear together in person before a Licensed Marriage Agent. You are able to submit your application online, but you will still have to physically meet with an agent to obtain the license. The marriage license fee is $60.00 (plus $5.00 portal administrative cost). The fee may be paid online or in-person at the time the application is submitted to a marriage license agent. The marriage license is good only in, but is valid throughout, the State of Hawaii and expires 30 days from and including the date of issuance, after which it automatically becomes null and void.
Please note that a marriage license and a marriage certificate are separate documents. It is the responsibility of your wedding officiant to prepare and file for the certificate through the Department of Health. One certified copy is included in the fee that you pay for the license and will be sent to you by mail (60-120days) after the wedding has been performed. If the certificate is needed immediately, you can apply for additional certified copies.